Sesame-Soy Cucumber Salad

I have mentioned previously about my obsession with cucumber cocktails…but I failed to mention that I am pretty much just obsessed with cucumbers in general.  I am the only one in my house that likes them, and I can easily eat an entire cucumber in one sitting – easily.  I love how easily they take on a marinade – and how just a little bit of seasoning can go a long way.

I remember when we lived in Denver (the sunniest place on earth) and my husband was just in the beginning stages of his gardening passion – he would basically grow anything.  He decided to try cucumbers, and little did he know they would grow like weeds.  He hates cucumbers, so luckily for me, I had loads of them all summer long.  He tried to eat them and tried to like them, but just couldn’t do it.  That was the last year we grew cucumbers – he decided he couldn’t waste the space on something he didn’t like.  Also – aside from eating them raw, I have to admit, zucchini is much more versatile.  You can bake, cook, roast, grill, pretty much do anything with zucchini – they are just as easy to grow – and my husband loves them.

I saw this recipe in Cooking Light – and it looked so good, I had to make it – and eat it – all of it – by myself.  It was really no trouble though, the entire dish was gone in a matter of minutes.  It was super easy – and would be delicious alongside some grilled chicken or steak.  So give it a try, and don’t be like me – wait a day before eating – it actually gets better the longer you wait…

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted
  • 2 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon hot water
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
  • 4 cups thinly sliced seeded cucumber

Preparation

Combine first 7 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add cucumber; toss to coat.

For a printer-friendly version of this recipe, please click here:  Sesame-Soy Cucumber Salad

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

11 thoughts on “Sesame-Soy Cucumber Salad

  1. This sounds wonderful – and like a great side dish for summer grilling. I know hubby doesn’t like cucumbers, but the kids might with these seasonings. I’m going to have to see…

  2. These look awesome! I think they may be similar to the cucumber appetizer that’s served often times at Korean restaurants, and that would be awesome because I love those! Thanks for sharing!

    P.s. Tell your husband to plant lots of cucumbers again and then make pickles! Everyone likes pickles!

  3. This cucumber salad sounds refreshing for a light summer lunch.
    It is vegetarian week at Get Grillin’ we would love if you submitted up to any 3 recipes (they don’t have to be grilled) to our link up. This one would be perfect!
    This week we have a ManPans giveaway. http://su.pr/3GCtXU

  4. I tried it and now it is one of my absolute favorite side-dishes for me and my family. Thank you for this great easy healthy recipe!

Leave a comment