Cucumber Yum Yum Cocktail

I have yet another obsession to confess…cocktails made with cucumber.  I am not sure what it is about them that make me go nuts, but they do.  If I see one on a menu, I can’t resist.  More often than not, they are not sweet, but just extremely fresh and clean tasting.  I especially love a good cucumber drink made with Hendrick’s Gin – which is also made with cucumber.

We had some friends over for a drink the other night before going to dinner, and I decided I wanted to have one “special” cocktail.  I went to epicurious and searched on cucumber and cocktail – and this is what came up – published in Bon Appetit.  The title sold me right away.  Yum Yum did the trick – and boy was the title correct.  I did adapt it slightly below – it was a little too sweet for me at first – but once I cut down on the honey, it was perfect.  It was slightly sweet, had a slight citrus flavor – and it sang of spring.  Just putting it up to my nose, I knew it would be the perfect cocktail.  Go ahead, it is time to toast spring – if not for the weather, at least for this terrific cocktail.

Ingredients

  • 12 1/8-inch-thick slices English hothouse cucumber, divided
  • 10 fresh raspberries, divided
  • 1/4 cup gin
  • 1 tablespoon acacia honey
  • 2 tablespoons (scant) aquavit*
  • 2 tablespoons (scant) fresh lime juice
  • Crushed ice

Preparation

Using muddler or handle of wooden spoon, mash 10 cucumber slices and 8 raspberries in cocktail shaker. Add gin, honey, aquavit, and lime juice. Shake vigorously 20 times. Fill 2 old-fashioned glasses with crushed ice. Strain cucumber mixture into glasses, dividing equally. Garnish each drink with 1 cucumber slice and serve.

For a printer-friendly version of this recipe, please click here: Cucumber Yum Yum Cocktail

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

72 thoughts on “Cucumber Yum Yum Cocktail

  1. Looks delish! I haven’t enjoyed a good gin cocktail in quite some time now.

    You have an asterix on aquavit. I then tried to look it up with mixed results. Is it a liquer? Or a flavoured sparkling water?

  2. This looks wonderful. Aquavit is very popular with my Swedish family. Usually we just drink it straight- by the shot. Ohhh weee, it is potent. I will definitely have to dig my bottle out of the freezer and try this cocktail. Thanks!

  3. Looks really refreshing and not overly sweet. I did just see a cucumber flavored vodka, you may want to add that to your cucumber drink list.

  4. I absolutely share your love of cocktails with cucumber. Espescially Hendrick’s gin cocktails! Have you ever had a traditional Hendrick’s gin and tonic, with cucumber from a Hendrick’s teapot and cup/saucer set? We hada pop up Hendrick’s bar in Selfridges and I fell in love with gin and tonic from a bone china cup – give it a try!

  5. yum yum is right! it sounds so good, i just saw a recipe for a coctail with cucumber and watermelon and gin! it made my mouth water!

  6. right when i read the title i looked in my fridge for the ingredients but i am missing some, looks so tasty! im gonna use this recipe if you dont mind

  7. Im not much of a drinker (lol) i do bailey irish cream by the tablespoon (lol) on da rocks! anywho im on a cucumber frenzy..so I maybe givin this one a try! tks for postin it! Im gonna tweet ya blog page :) re: showmeoff2world

  8. I have to say there has been a huge groundswell in craft bar tending towards gin based cucumber infused cocktails however, I have to provide the dissenting opinion on this one. As a former bartender I have to say this may be the most delicious drink ever however it is driven by the berries. The most surprising liqueur I have found that plays well with clear liquor and cucumber is Elderflower. Give it a shot… well not literally a shot, it plays well with vodka, gin, citrus, and even champagne. Kudo’s for the Hendrick’s reps on their successful insertion into every hip bar’s vernacular.

  9. Oh yeah food !!! I read freshly pressed almost daily
    Check out my blog sometime.
    “Whatcha need Got you covered in Northwest Houston,Tx.”

  10. This looks amazing – I will be trying this over the weekend, for sure. Did you ever, by chance, figure out how to make the amazing Cucumber Mint Martini at Mercer Kitchen?

Leave a comment