Marshmallow Brownies

I thought I was done with brownies, but for some reason they keep knocking at my door – literally.  The other night we were upstairs reading to the girls, when there was a knock at the door.  It was my neighbor and her 2 boys delivering some brownies.  I thought it was so sweet of them to do that, but thought, how could these possible be better than these other brownies that I have made recently?  I have had quite a good run of brownies.

I had no idea…none.  These brownies were fantastic – utterly amazing, and I ate two that night.  The bottom was nice and moist, and that layer of marshmallow – oh my goodness – with the chocolate glaze on top – WOW!!  I had to have the recipe – and I had to make them myself.

My neighbor was nice enough to send me the recipe – and as the last of her brownies were finished my daughter asked when we were going to make more.  I made a batch and brought them to our other neighbors, and they didn’t last long at all – in fact, we each ate a few they were so good.  These brownies will definitely go down as some of the best brownies I have ever had…

This recipe comes from her cousin’s cookbook – seems like a great resource, thanks very much!!

Ingredients

Brownies:

  • 1 C butter, melted
  • 2 C sugar
  • 1/4 C cocoa
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 3/4 C chopped nuts (if desired)
  • 2 1/2 C mini marshmallows

Frosting:

  • 1/4 C butter, melted
  • 2 TB milk
  • 1/3 C cocoa
  • 1 1/4 C powdered sugar

Mix together melted butter, sugar, coca, eggs, vanilla and salt. Add flour and mix just until combined. Fold in nuts, if desired. Bake in a greased 9×13 pan at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. IMmediately top with marshmallows and bake an additional 2 minutes. Use a knife dipped in water to spread marshmallows evenly. Cool completely.  To make frosting, whisk ingredients together until smooth. Spread frosting over marshmallow layer.

Makes about 24 brownies.

For a printer-friendly version of this recipe, please click here: Marshmallow Brownies

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

38 thoughts on “Marshmallow Brownies

  1. I just printed this recipe out and will be making it soon. Probably this weekend. I love making brownies and having a marshmallow layer in them sounds out of this world! And since you highly recommend this recipe, it makes me even more excited to make them. Hopefully they turn out well for me.

  2. These look JUST like some Rocky Road brownies we had from a local bakery! They were also a-MAY-zing! Thanks for this recipe – I hope to try it out tonight!!

  3. Just wanted to let you know I cooked these last week and they went down extremely well.

    I did them without the marshmallow due to vegetarian friends and not being able to find any vegetarian friendly marshmallows.

    They were lovely and moist so will be doing them again soon.

    Thanks for posting.

  4. Couldn’t you make these with marshmallow fluff instead of mini marshmallows? It would seem to me that the marshmallow fluff would be easier to spread.

    1. I actually tried it, and yes, it does spread on very easily, but the problem is that it just ends up melting into the brownies because it is too soft.

  5. I look forward to making these!
    Could you confirm that I should be using unsalted butter?
    Thanks!

  6. I’m so excited to make these for the Fourth of July! One question: what does the knife dipped in water do/help with??

    1. It helps to spread the melted marshmallows – otherwise the marshmallows stick to the knife and it can be quite difficult to spread.

  7. Perphaps it is a silly question, but I’m from Barcelona (Spain) and the mesures here are different… I guess the C is for Cup but… what is TB (on the frosting part… 2 TB milk)??
    Thanks, they look delicious, I’ll try them for sure!!

  8. This recipe is an amazing keeper. Believe it or not, I’ve made three batches and each has come out perfectly and people absolutely adore them. I keep saying that I have now learned how to make a perfect brownie and a great frosting. On the last batch I added some espresso powder to it and made a nice twist. Thank you for sharing this keeper!

  9. I made these for the 4th of July with a couple of additions. I added a graham cracker crust base, poured the brownie batter over that, added the marshmallow, then another layer of graham cracker crust, and finally the chocolate frosting top.

    A sort of S’mores Brownie.

    Unbelievably delicious!

    However when I am feeling like I ought to be cutting back I will make them exactly to the recipe….

  10. I made these last week and they were wonderful! Best scratch brownies I’ve ever had. I can’t stop thinking about the marshmallow and frosting. YUM.

    I blogged about it and linked back here. Thanks for the recipe!

    1. Thanks very much – and thanks to everyone who has made such nice comments about these brownies!! I completely agree – and am so thankful that my neighbor shared her recipe with me!

  11. I only have the large marshmellows on hand and were wondering how exactly to substitute those for mini’s. lol. I should know by now but I can’t figure it out. I would say 4-5 big marshmallows, correct?

    I also have a question. I LOVE to cook/bake. Would you like some recipes? I have TONS of brownies ones (they’re my favorite to make).

  12. I have a recipe almost exactly like this that my sister LOVES, mom has made them for years and years. I could use one this week!

  13. I just made these with my kids today and just finished eating them and they are as awesome as you made them sound!
    Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    I’m doing my part and passing the recipe along through my business blog: birthisfun.com/blog/

  14. im sooooo headed to the grocery store right now!!!!! cant wait! thanx! im sure the hubby and kids will eat this up within the day! lol

  15. I made these brownies and followed the exact recipe. The brownie part was the color of dark sand, the marshmallow part was like rubber and the frosting was like paste. Too bad I didn’t try them out before the day of the bake off….A lot of expensive ingredients went right into the trash can!

    1. Sorry to hear that Mary – ingredients can be different in different parts of the country – and baking can be different depending on the weather (lots of humidity, vs. very dry). I have known a lot of people to make these and they came out wonderfully – but these things happen. Again, sorry you couldn’t use them.

      1. I agree!!!! You need to experiment for sure. The more you bake, the more at ease experimenting becomes! I live at 8,300 feet in a dry climate.. I titrate as needed. I add tiny amts of liquid to the frosting for the right consistancy. Try it again…these are DEVINE!

  16. These are REALLY yummy!!! I have made them about 6 times in 2 months…birthday parties, bbq’s etc. EVERYONE raves….instead of milk in frosting, I added 2 tblsp coffee from the AM. Thank you for sharing

    1. Hello! I was wondering what kind of cocoa (natural or dutch-processed) you used? When I made these, I substituted the cocoa with unsweetened chocolate squares. The conversion I found online said that 3 tablespoons of cocoa + 1 tbsp butter equalled 1 square of chocolate, so for the recipe I used 1 1/3 squares of chocolate, and subtracted a tablespoon of butter. But, the brownie did not turn out nearly as brown as the picture, in fact, it almost resembled a blondie it was so pale! It still tasted great, but I was wondering how you achieved the darker chocolate-y color with only 1/4 cup of cocoa, because it seems like you need much more.

      Thank you!

      1. I actually use Trader Joesn Unsweetened cocoa, which is pretty dark. I also have used Hershey’s Dutch-process cocoa – try that next time and see if they get darker. Good luck!!

  17. I just made this.and it said on the recipe to cool completely before the frosting. I added a little bit more milk on the frosting for the right consistency. I have a few questions though. what kind of milk did u use? 2%, whole milk, evaporated or skim or it doesn’t matter?Should the bottom come out fudgey or cakey? Would these be good for freezing? and if so, for how long? I’m sorry for all the questions and thanks for sharing this recipe! :)

    1. I probably used 1% milk, because that is usually what I have in the house. I am not sure it matters though. The bottom should come out fudgey if I remember correctly. I have not frozen these, but I imagine that would work out just fine. I hope you like them!

  18. Delicious with fluff mixed in too ;)
    Makes more like 15 brownies at a larger cut – make sure to try extra cocoa

Leave a comment