Gingerbread Bars

Gingerbread

I love gingerbread; my favorite is when it comes right out of the oven with a carmelized top, and just melts in your mouth.  The combination of all those fall spices – cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves is just beautiful.  I was going to make my usual standby gingerbread recipe, when I came accross this one printed in Bon Appetit.  It is a cross between a brownie and cake – but more on the brownie side.  I used a 13×9 pan because I didn’t have a 15×10, and they worked out just fine – just don’t sprinkle as much flour/sugar on top.  They stored very well in an airtight container in the pantry for a few days.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 7 1/2 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup light (unsulfured) molasses

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 15x10x1-inch baking sheet. Place 2 cups flour in medium bowl; transfer 2 tablespoons flour to small bowl and reserve. Add spices, baking soda, and salt to flour in medium bowl; whisk to blend. Using electric mixer, beat butter, brown sugar, and 6 tablespoons sugar in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, then molasses. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture and beat to blend. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Sift reserved 2 tablespoons flour evenly over batter, then sprinkle evenly with remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar.

Bake gingerbread until golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 22 minutes; cool completely in pan on rack. Cut gingerbread crosswise into 4 strips, then cut each strip into 6 pieces, forming 24 bars, each about 31/2×13/4 inches. DO AHEAD: Can be made 2 days ahead.Store airtight at room temperature.

For a printer friendly version of this reciple, click here.

Gingerbread 2

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

12 thoughts on “Gingerbread Bars

  1. I want to live in your kitchen just so I can eat whatever comes out of your oven next. Yummy stuff is happening all the time at your place. I can’t wait to see what you cook next.

  2. I made these bars tonight for a potluck this weekend. They are indeed delicious, however they are very thin–just 1/2 inch (high). Did yours rise more?

      1. I think that’s the difference – I used a 13″ x 9″. Yours would be a perfect thickness to make ice-cream sandwiches!!

  3. Yum, gingerbread ice cream sandwiches? I’ll make those next summer!
    Meanwhile I’ll make the thicker ones, they sound delicious, I love gingerbread!

  4. These look delish! I want to make them for a big brunch i’m doing over Christmas – can they be made ahead and frozen?

    Thanks!

Leave a comment